The Cathedral Parish Hall was originally built in 1837 as one of the first of a new generation of Catholic Churches in Essex following Catholic Emancipation in 1829. It served as a church until the late 1850’s when a new, much larger church was built next door to accommodate the growing Catholic community in Brentwood.
The building then briefly became an orphanage, before housing St Helen’s Infants School for over one hundred years. In the 1970’s, it was converted to a hall and social club for the Cathedral Parish.
By the late 1990’s, the building was in need of extensive repair and restoration. This restoration was completed to the highest standards achievable and the Cathedral Parish Hall was re-opened by Bishop Thomas McMahon, the Bishop of Brentwood, in July 2005.
Click here for David Worsfold's fascinating article on the restoration of The Parish Hall.
The Cathedral Parish Hall provides facilities for parish groups and activities, together with space for social events. It has two halls, a Large and Small Hall with kitchen facilities in both.
If you are interested in hiring either hall for a function, please contact Judith Barretto via EMAIL
Hire of both the Large Hall and the Small Hall is subject to certain conditions.